mami Shikimori Pianist

Welcome to Mami Shikimori official website

EPTA Piano Professional review

Tchaikovsky Douze morceaux op. 40, Souvenir de Hapsal, op.2, Valses, Capriccio

Mami Shikomori, Piano

Naxos 8.573543


“presented with such bravura, care and idiomatic sensitivity… Shikimori despatches the semiquavers in the opening etude with razor sharp precision and sparkle.  She brings poetic intensity to the ‘Chanson triste’ that follows, and also makes a strong case for the characterful ‘Au village’ and memorably evocative ‘Danse Russe’. Overall this set lasts some 44 minutes in duration, and its neglect seems strange and unfortunate. Elsewhere three valses prove that Shikimori has an idiomatic flexibility and freedom in her approach that never offends by threatening to overstep the stylistic mark. Overall a most user-friendly, impressively presented recital that will give much pleasure.”

Alexander Thompson     (Piano Professional January 2019)


Mami was also invited to take part in the teacher’s symposium, which you can read in the autumn edition of EPTA Piano Professional magazine.

Our time: 8:15pm BST